Penalties for Cannabis in Florida
Florida has the most regressive penalties in the United States.
Paraphernalia
Possession of drug paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
* Donotes the first number is a mandatory minimum sentence. Mandatory minimum sentences give total control to the State Attorney who determines the final charges. When sentences include mandatory minimums, the person is not eligible for reduced sentences, earned time probation or parole until the minimum is served. Learn more about ending mandatory minimum sentences in Florida.
Florida also has enhanced penalties of 15 Years and up to $10,000 fine if the above takes place within 1000 yards of a school, park, college or other designated area.
But there is more....
Even a conviction for misdemeanor possession can cause the suspension of the person's driver's license for two years.

Persons who possess cannabis and have children are also subject to investigation from the Florida Department of Children and Families. These families face the threat of having minor children removed from the home in addition to other legal consequences. If the person convicted is also a patient, the impact is exponential. Learn more about patient advocacy campaigns in Florida.
How did we get here?
State with legal medical cannabis.
State with decriminalized cannabis possession laws.
State with both medical and decriminalization laws.
State with legalized cannabis.
Florida has the worst cannabis laws in the nation!